News from the Chair
College Researcher, Three Alumnae Named Fellows of the American Physical Society

Karen Byrum, Elizabeth Hays, Ana Maria Rey, Peter Yoon have been named 2014 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS) for their exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise.

Read More

Ouyang Selected for ARPA-E Funding

Associate Professor Min Ouyang is one of the University of Maryland recipients of an Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) program supporting research to develop technologies that can regulate temperatures of building occupants, rather than of the overall building.

Misner Awarded the 2015 Einstein Medal

Charles Misner was awarded the Einstein Medal 2015 for his "important contributions to general relativity, in particular the development of the so-called ADM formalism." In 1959 Richard Arnowitt, Stanley Deser, and Misner (ADM) found a way to recast Einstein's equations in a ("Hamiltonian") form which allowed hard-won mechanical and electromagnetic intuitions to be applied to gravity. One result was to encourage attempts to solve Einstein's equations on computers, which in the last couple decades has grown into a major method for understanding black hole interactions.

The Einstein Society awards the medal annually to deserving individuals for outstanding scientific findings, works, or publications related to Albert Einstein. It was first awarded to Stephen Hawking in 1979 and since then many distinguished scientists. The full list is available, here.

Frontiers of Science in Western China

Xiangdong Ji comments on the frontiers of science in Western China (Science)

UMD Physics Professor Confirmed as Head of ARPA-E

Distinguished University Professor Ellen Williams was confirmed by the U.S. Senate yesterday as the new Director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E). President Obama nominated Williams in November 2013 to direct the agency, which was launched with bipartisan support in 2009 to advance high-potential, high-impact energy technologies that are too early in development for private-sector investment.

University Professor Ellen Williams is central to the Department's advancement of energy technology innovation, and Ellen Williams will provide outstanding leadership based upon her combination of world class research in condensed matter physics and insight into how technology impacts the energy marketplace," said U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary Ernest Moniz in a release. "I'm excited to work with Ellen on expanding the scope and impact of ARPA-E."

Read More

Ellen Williams 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 3 of 51

Department of Physics

University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-4111
Phone: 301.405.3401
Fax: 301.314.9525