Colloquia & Seminars
  • JQI Lunch Seminar
    Speaker: Xiaopeng Li, JQI

    Title: "Topological loop currents and experimental signatures in optical lattices"

    Important note: Free lunch served right before the seminar

    Abstract: Spontaneous loop current order breaks time-reversal symmetry and gives rise to chiral states. It is recently found to play an important role in strongly correlated materials such as cuprates. However, direct probe of loop currents in such materials remains a challenge. In this talk, I will discuss loop currents in optical lattices. For Bose-Einstein condensates, such ordering in certain cases can be extracted from condensate wavefunction, which is known from time-of-flight measurements. Experimental evidences observed in chequerboard and hexagonal lattices will be discussed. Loop currents of fermions naturally provide emergent gauge fields, supporting topological states such as Quantum Hall and Weyl semimetals. Experimental signatures in fermion systems also exist in time-of-flight, yet in a different way from Bosons.
    When: Fri, December 19, 2014 - 12:00pm
    Where: PSC 2136
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, January 27, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, February 3, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, February 10, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • NO COLLOQUIUM
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, February 17, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, February 24, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, March 3, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, March 10, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, March 17, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, March 24, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, March 31, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, April 7, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, April 14, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, April 21, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, April 28, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, May 5, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, May 12, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, May 19, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, May 26, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
  • Physics Colloquium
    Speaker Name:

    Speaker Institution:

    Title: TBA
    When: Tue, June 2, 2015 - 4:00pm
    Where: PSC Lobby
 

Department of Physics


University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-4111
Phone: 301.405.3401
Fax: 301.314.9525