Professor Jim Gates Named to President's Council of Advisors on Science & Technology

University of Maryland physics Professor Sylvester "Jim" Gates was named yesterday by President Obama as a member of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST).  He joins a team of 20 of the country's leading scientists and engineers who will advise the President directly to help the administration formulate policy related to science, technology, and innovation.


Kara Hoffman Awarded the NSF CAREER Award

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Kara Hoffman, who was awarded the National Science Foundations CAREER Award grant. Dr. Hoffman’s proposal, entitled “CAREER Towards a GZK Neutrino Detector at the South Pole,” was awarded based on scientific and technical merit. NSF funds research in science and engineering through grants, contracts and cooperative agreements.

For more information on NSF Awards visit: http//

Professor Rabindra Mohapatra awarded the Degree Doctorate of Science

North Orissa University, in India, has awarded Rabindra Mohapatra the Degree Doctorate of Science (Honoris Causa) for his outstanding contributions in the field of Science. The degree will be presented on May 12, 2009 at their annual convocation.

Donna Hammer and Clay Daetwyler are the Winners of the CMPS Dean's Outstanding Staff Awards

Two of the winners of the Dean's Outstanding Staff Awards are colleagues in the Department of Physics.

Clay Daetwyler of Lecture Demonstration was selected in the non-exempt category.
Donna Hammer of MRSEC was selected on the exempt side.

The awards carry a cash value of $1,000 and will be presented at the 21st Annual Spring Academic Festival on Friday, April 24, 2009, at 3:00 p.m., in the Rotunda of the Mathematics Building. Refreshments will be served.

Congratulations to Clay and Donna for this well-earned recognition! And thanks to all the hardworking, dedicated employees who make our Department a wonderful place!