UMD CMNS Physics S1 Color

Steve Rolston Named Chair of UMD Department of Physics

University of Maryland Physics Professor Steve Rolston has been named chair of the Department of Physics effective July 1, 2016.

“I am excited and delighted to continue the department’s upward trajectory and strengthen its commitment to excellent research and to excellent education,” says Rolston.

Faces of Physics: a HAWC eye on the sky

"A HAWC eye on the sky" takes you on an audiovisual tour of a striking new astrophysics facility in Mexico. The High-Altitude Water Cherenkov (HAWC) gamma-ray observatory – which was inaugurated last year – is designed to catch a glimpse of some of the most extreme events in the cosmos. Located near the peak of the extinct Sierra Negra volcano, HAWC cuts a spooky image against the Mexican countryside, comprising 300 giant silver barrels with yellow tops that are filled with water.

Johnpierre Paglione Named Director of CNAM

Professor Johnpierre Paglione has been appointed as the new Director of the Center for Nanophysics and Advanced Materials. Having contributed to several fields of condensed matter research through both single-crystal synthesis of superconducting, quantum-critical and topological materials, as well as exploration of novel phenomena, he will continue to ensure the strength and vitality of the experimental condensed matter physics research performed in the Center.

Professor Paglione is a leader in the field of quantum criticality and has made important contributions to the fields of heavy-fermion materials and the quasiparticle picture of correlated materials. His team has more recently pursued several new areas of research including iron-based high-temperature superconductivity and topological insulators and superconductors. He is the recipient of a National Postdoctoral Fellowship Award from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council of Canada, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and an Early Career Award from the Department of Energy, and a recipient of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Materials Synthesis Award. Dr. Paglione earned his PhD from the University of Toronto in Canada.