CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards Announced

Allie Hoch (honorable mention), John Silberholz (finalist) and Richard McCutchen (winner) received CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards for 2010. A copy of the announcement will appear in the January 2010 issue of Computing Research News. It will also be posted on CRA's website ( later this week.


ADM Conference Celebrating Arnowitt, Deser and Charles Misner’s Fundamental Contribution to the Field

Texas A&M University, supported by the Department of Physics and College of Science, is holding a three-day conference in recognition of the 50th Anniversary of the ADM formulation. The ADM formulation, developed by Richard Arnowitt, Stanley Deser and Maryland’s Charles Misner, restructured the dynamics of general relativity. The conference will be held November 7 – 8 and will celebrate the contribution to the understanding of gravitation. Additionally, it will focus on current research and developments in the field.

In Dr. Misner's words: Einstein's 1915 gravitation equations had both unfamiliar content (spacetime is curved) but also a mathematical form that intimidated physicists (including Einstein) familiar with Newton's mechanics and Maxwell's electromagnetism.  In 1959 Arnowitt, Deser, and Misner (ADM) found a way to recast Einstein's equations in a ("Hamiltonian") form which allowed hard-won mechanical and electromagnetic intuitions to be applied to gravity. One result was to encourage attempts to solve Einstein's equations on computers, which in the last couple decades has grown into a major method for understanding black hole interactions.

For more information on the conference, visit

Kara Hoffman Awarded the 2009 Richard A. Ferrell Distinguished Faculty Fellowship

Assistant Professor Kara Hoffman has received the 2009 Richard A. Ferrell Distinguished Faculty Fellowship, which recognizes outstanding personal effort and expertise in physics as well as dedicated service to the UMD Department of Physics. The Fellowship, established in 2001, honors Dr. Richard A. Ferrell, a deeply-respected physicist who joined the University in 1953, served 40 years, and remained active in the department even after his retirement. Dr. Ferrell died in 2005 at his nearby University Park home.

Professor Hoffman is a particle astrophysicist whose current areas of focus are AURA (the Askaryan Underice Radio Array) and the IceCube Neutrino Observatory at the South Pole. She was the recent recipient of an NSF CAREER award and in 2007 received the Board of Visitors' Distinguished Junior Faculty Award from the College of Computer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences.


Victor Galitski Awarded Board of Visitors Junior Faculty Award

Victor Galitski was awarded the CMPS Board of Visitors Junior Faculty Award.  Dr. Galitski is a highly-regarded theorist in our Condensed Matter Physics Group. The focus of his research includes diverse subjects of spin transport, many-body cold atom systems, graphene, strongly correlated systems, superconductivity, quantum phase transitions and topological phases of matter.

The award carries a cash prize of $2,500 and will be presented in October.