UM Gets $10.3 Million in Stimulus Funds for Advanced Quantum Lab

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The University of Maryland has been awarded $10.3 million in stimulus funds by the U.S. Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to build an advanced quantum science lab.

The grant is part of a $123 million nationwide series of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act grants to support the construction of new scientific research facilities at 11 universities and one non-profit research organization.

Read More

UMD Physicists Among New AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 531 members, including three members of the University of Maryland physics faculty: Professors Betsy Beise and Jordan Goodman and Adjunct Professor Carl Williams (NIST/JQI).

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Fellows are recognized by their peers for distinguished efforts to advance science.

Elizabeth J. Beise, who specializes in experimental nuclear physics, received her PhD from MIT and joined the University of Maryland in 1993. Research topics have included the study of the QCD structure of nucleons and fundamental symmetries. Among her previous honors are Fellowship in the American Physical Society, the APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award and the NSF Young Investigator Award. From 2004-2006, she was Program Director for Nuclear Physics at the National Science Foundation. She now serves as the UMD interim Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Programs.

Jordan A. Goodman,a particle astrophysicist, received his PhD from this University, and has spent his entire career as a Terp. Earlier this year, he received the UMD President's Medal, the highest award the University can bestow. He has served as Spokesperson for MILAGRO Gamma Ray Experiment, is the current spokesman of the HAWC collaboration, and is also active in the IceCube neutrino telescope effort at the South Pole. He has received the UMD Kirwan Prize for Undergraduate Education, and the University System of Maryland's Regents' Award for Excellence in Teaching. He is also a UMD Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Carl J. Williams, co-director of the Joint Quantum Institute and Chief of Atomic Physics at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, received his PhD from the University of Chicago. He has held appointments at the University of Chicago and the University of Notre Dame, and has been a visiting scientist in Norway, England, Israel and France. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and a recipient of the Department of Commerce Silver Medal for Leadership and the Arthur S. Flemming Award for Scientific Achievement.

Bill Dorland Wins DOE's 2009 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

Professor Bill Dorland has received the Department of Energy’s E.O. Lawrence Award for his “scientific leadership in the development of comprehensive computer simulations of plasma turbulence, and his specific predictions, insights, and improved understanding of turbulent transport in magnetically-confined plasma experiments”. The Lawrence Award, established in 1959, recalls Ernest Orlando Lawrence, an American physicist and engineer who won the Nobel Prize in 1939; the DoE’s Lawrence Berkeley and Lawrence Livermore laboratories are named in his honor.

The E.O. Lawrence Award recognizes exceptional contributions by mid-career scientists supporting the DoE and its mission to advance the national, economic and energy security of the United States. It consists of a gold medal, a citation and an honorarium of $50,000. Congratulations to Bill Dorland!


Sarah Eno Elected Fellow of APS

Congratulations to Sarah C. Eno for her election as Fellow of the American Physical Society. Dr. Eno joined the University of Maryland as an assistant professor in 1993; prior to that, she was a researcher at the Enrico Fermi Institute of the University of Chicago. Dr. Eno, who received her PhD in 1990 from the University of Rochester; specializes in high energy physics; her work and that of University of Maryland colleagues involved in the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, is described here:

The APS cited Dr. Eno for contributions in particle physics involving electroweak parameters, precision electroweak measurements, and physics beyond the Standard Model at the Tevatron.