The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 531 members, including three members of the University of Maryland physics faculty: Professors Betsy Beise and Jordan Goodman and Adjunct Professor Carl Williams (NIST/JQI).

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Fellows are recognized by their peers for distinguished efforts to advance science.

Elizabeth J. Beise, who specializes in experimental nuclear physics, received her PhD from MIT and joined the University of Maryland in 1993. Research topics have included the study of the QCD structure of nucleons and fundamental symmetries. Among her previous honors are Fellowship in the American Physical Society, the APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award and the NSF Young Investigator Award. From 2004-2006, she was Program Director for Nuclear Physics at the National Science Foundation. She now serves as the UMD interim Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Programs.

Jordan A. Goodman,a particle astrophysicist, received his PhD from this University, and has spent his entire career as a Terp. Earlier this year, he received the UMD President's Medal, the highest award the University can bestow. He has served as Spokesperson for MILAGRO Gamma Ray Experiment, is the current spokesman of the HAWC collaboration, and is also active in the IceCube neutrino telescope effort at the South Pole. He has received the UMD Kirwan Prize for Undergraduate Education, and the University System of Maryland's Regents' Award for Excellence in Teaching. He is also a UMD Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Carl J. Williams, co-director of the Joint Quantum Institute and Chief of Atomic Physics at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, received his PhD from the University of Chicago. He has held appointments at the University of Chicago and the University of Notre Dame, and has been a visiting scientist in Norway, England, Israel and France. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and a recipient of the Department of Commerce Silver Medal for Leadership and the Arthur S. Flemming Award for Scientific Achievement.