Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been named the recipient of the Richard E. Prange Prize and Lectureship in Condensed Matter Theory and Related Areas for 2023. He will give his lecture, "The Magic of Moiré Quantum Matter," on Tues., Oct. 24 at 4 p.m. in room 1410 of the John S. Toll Physics Building. Refreshments will be served at 3:30 p.m. 

The Prange Prize, established by the UMD Department of Physics and Condensed Matter Theory Center (CMTC), honors the late Professor Richard E. Prange, whose distinguished professorial career at Maryland spanned four decades (1961-2000). The Prange Prize is made possible by a gift from Dr. Prange's wife, Dr. Madeleine Joullié, a professor of chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania.Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (courtesy of MIT)Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (courtesy of MIT)

Richard E. PrangeRichard E. PrangeDr. Prange was a member of the Maryland condensed matter theory group for more than 40 years and was an affiliate of CMTC with its inception in 2002. He edited a highly-respected book on the quantum Hall effect and made important theoretical contributions to the subject. His interests extended into all aspects of theoretical physics, and continued after his retirement, recalled Sankar Das Sarma, who holds the Richard E. Prange Chair in Physics at UMD and is also a Distinguished University Professor and director of the CMTC.

While earning his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago under Nobelist Yoichiro Nambu, Prange also worked with Murray Gell-Mann and Marvin Goldberger. 

Jarillo-Herrero joined MIT in 2008, and has received an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship, a DOE Early Career Award, a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, an ONR Young Investigator Award, a Moore Foundation Experimental Physics in Quantum Systems Investigator Award, the Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize and the 2020 Wolf Prize in Physics. His work showing that slight rotations of adjacent layers of graphene allowed control of its electronic properties was named the Physics World 2018 Breakthrough of the Year. 

Jarillo-Herrero joins a prestigious list of Prange Prize recipients: Philip W. Anderson, Walter Kohn, Daniel Tsui, Andre Geim, David Gross, Klaus von Klitzing, Frank Wilczek, Juan Maldacena and Charles Kane.

In addition to the Tuesday lecture, Jarillo-Herrero will deliver the CMTC JLDS Seminar on Wednesday, October 25 at 10 a.m. in room 4402 of the Atlantic Building.