Nicholas Hadley, Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year 486 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, 14 February from 8 to 10 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2009 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

As part of the Section on Physics, Dr. Hadley was elected as an AAAS Fellow for his leadership role in the discovery of the top quark and his contributions to searches for phenomena beyond the standard model of particle physics.

Dr. Hadley joined the University of Maryland as an Associate Professor in 1988. He is an experimental physicist working in the field of High Energy Physics (HEP). Skilled in the development and construction of detectors for the primary observation of charged and neutral particles, he has been very successful in data analysis and physics interpretation of HEP data. He did important work at Brookhaven on rare decays of “strange” particles, published the first paper at the Fermilab Dzero experiment on “leptoquarks,” and spearheaded the analysis efforts at Dzero that led to the discovery of the top quark at Dzero in 1995. He is internationally recognized for his many important leadership roles in the large collaboration of physicists and technical personnel that constitute an active HEP physics experiment, having been on the program advisory committees of Brookhaven and Fermilab, among other leadership positions


The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with nominee’s institution) , or by the AAAS chief executive officer. For more information regarding the non-profit AAAS, visit .