Distinguished University Professor Ed Ott (ECE/Physics/IREAP) has been honored by two professional societies for his decades-long career in nonlinear science and chaos theory. The Lewis Fry Richardson Medal of the European Geosciences Union (EGU) commemorates the work of Richardson, a mathematician and physicist who pioneered the science of fractal theory and weather forecasting.  Prof. Ott was cited for "...pioneering contributions in the theory of chaos with applications to the motion of tracers in fluids, kinematic dynamos, and data assimilation for weather forecasting."  

The J├╝rgen Moser Lecture, sponsored by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), recognizes Prof. Ott's distinguished and sustained contributions to nonlinear science, citing "seminal work in chaos theory and the dynamics of physical systems." Prof. Ott will deliver the lecture at the May 2017 SIAM Meeting on Dynamical Systems in Snowbird, Utah.

Professor Ott is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. He is the recipient of the APS Julius Edgar Lilienfield Prize for 2014. He was selected as a 2016 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate in physics.