Rabindra Mohapatra Named Outstanding Referee

Rabi Mohapatra is among the 157 Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review and Physical Review Letters journals, as chosen by the journal editors for 2010.

Initiated in 2008, the Outstanding Referee program expresses appreciation for the essential work that anonymous peer reviewers do for our journals. Each year a small percentage of our 42,000 referees are selected and honored with the Outstanding Referee designation. Selections are made based on the number, quality, and timeliness of referee reports as collected in a database over the last 20 years. The program will recognize about 150 referees each year, although larger groups were selected in 2008 and 2009.

A full listing and further details on the program are available here:

Ki-Yong Kim Receives DOE Grant

Ki-Yong Kim was one of 69 scientists from across the nation selected to receive funding under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, as part of DOE's new Early Career Research Program. Awardees were selected from a pool of 1,750 university and national laboratory-based applicants. Selection was based on peer review by outside scientific experts.

Professor Kim's project is titled, “Generation, Imaging, and Control of Ultrafast Electrical Currents and Radiation.”

UM Gets $10.3 Million in Stimulus Funds for Advanced Quantum Lab

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The University of Maryland has been awarded $10.3 million in stimulus funds by the U.S. Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to build an advanced quantum science lab.

The grant is part of a $123 million nationwide series of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act grants to support the construction of new scientific research facilities at 11 universities and one non-profit research organization.

Read More

UMD Physicists Among New AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 531 members, including three members of the University of Maryland physics faculty: Professors Betsy Beise and Jordan Goodman and Adjunct Professor Carl Williams (NIST/JQI).

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Fellows are recognized by their peers for distinguished efforts to advance science.

Elizabeth J. Beise, who specializes in experimental nuclear physics, received her PhD from MIT and joined the University of Maryland in 1993. Research topics have included the study of the QCD structure of nucleons and fundamental symmetries. Among her previous honors are Fellowship in the American Physical Society, the APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award and the NSF Young Investigator Award. From 2004-2006, she was Program Director for Nuclear Physics at the National Science Foundation. She now serves as the UMD interim Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Programs.

Jordan A. Goodman,a particle astrophysicist, received his PhD from this University, and has spent his entire career as a Terp. Earlier this year, he received the UMD President's Medal, the highest award the University can bestow. He has served as Spokesperson for MILAGRO Gamma Ray Experiment, is the current spokesman of the HAWC collaboration, and is also active in the IceCube neutrino telescope effort at the South Pole. He has received the UMD Kirwan Prize for Undergraduate Education, and the University System of Maryland's Regents' Award for Excellence in Teaching. He is also a UMD Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Carl J. Williams, co-director of the Joint Quantum Institute and Chief of Atomic Physics at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, received his PhD from the University of Chicago. He has held appointments at the University of Chicago and the University of Notre Dame, and has been a visiting scientist in Norway, England, Israel and France. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and a recipient of the Department of Commerce Silver Medal for Leadership and the Arthur S. Flemming Award for Scientific Achievement.