Daniel Campbell and Fangli Liu are Wylie Fellows

Wylie2019Fangli Liu (left) and Daniel Campbell (right) are Wylie Fellows

Physics Ph.D. candidates Daniel Campbell and Fangli Liu have both recieved the Ann G. Wylie Semester Dissertation Fellowship. The Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship is a full-time fellowship that provides support to University of Maryland doctoral candidates who are in the latter stages of writing their dissertations. 

Daniel Campbell is investigating the synthesis and characterization of bulk quantum materials, including iron-based superconductors and transition metal pnictide materials, rare-earth based compounds, and transition metal dichalcogenides. 

Fangli Liu is studying quantum simulation and quantum dynamics in atomic, molecular and optical systems, which are relevant for future quantum computation and quantum information processing technologies. 

University of Maryland Chapter of Society of Physics Students Named Outstanding Chapter

sps sigpisig logos

The University of Maryland chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the sixth time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to only 15 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The SPS chapter at University of Maryland is advised by Director of Education Programs & Public Engagement Donna Hammer and is led by student officers.

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

Freddy Cisneros Awarded Best Oral Presentation at SACNAS Conference

Freddy CisnerosPhysics graduate student Freddy Cisneros has been awarded the best oral presentation award in Physics and Astronomy at the annual SACNAS conference in San Antonio, Texas for his work on using machine learning to study rare events in condensed matter systems. The Presentation Awards recognize the next generation of scientists and STEM leaders for exemplary science. Cisneros is currently performing this work with the Tiwary research group in the Institute for Physical Science & Technology and the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry and is currently the UMD SACNAS chapter president.

Eight UMD Physics Graduate Students Received Awards for the 2018-2019 Academic Year

Congratulations to eight graduate students who have received awards from the Graduate School for the 2018-2019 Academic Year!

Pablo Solano Palma
Dissertation Title:  "Quantum Optics in Optical Nanofibers:
Dissertation Advisor:  Professor Luis A. Orozco
Peizhi Du
Gareth Roberg-Clark
Abhish Dev
Mohammed Khalil
Fellowship Location: Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Germany
Project: “Gravitational Waves Theory”
Batoul Banihashemi
Leonard Campanello
Cong Tran